I FINALLY DID IT!! VERIZON UPDATE ON SPRINT TREO 650

Discussion of the Treo 650 smartphone

Moderator:kocoman

Post Reply
User avatar
simbalage21
Techie
Posts:111
Joined:Mon Jun 13, 2005 6:23 pm
Location:Detroit
Contact:
I FINALLY DID IT!! VERIZON UPDATE ON SPRINT TREO 650

Post by simbalage21 » Sun Mar 12, 2006 1:18 am

after crashing 2 motherboards, and 2 esn chips.. I have finally figured out how to successfully force the verizon 1.04 update on my sprint treo 650 without changing tokens.. here is what I did

I will attach the files I put on the sd card. When you open the zip

copy both folders to a blank SD card.. then when you put the card in your treo you will see CDMA Updater and Rom Updater..

1. click rom updater
2. press enter
3. type without quotes "ace" and press enter key
4. hard reset
5. after the device resets... eject and insert the sd card
6. then choose cdma updater.. it will then flash the modem

bam!! treo 650 on verizon


i've notice a lot of difference as the verizon screen now comes up instead of sprint... under options you have an option of selecting the bands A b or home

also there is wireless sync, and sms, mms, and wireless sync...

All is working except 2 things...the hardware still reads sprint 1.13a and the banner says no service... but phone works 100% as well as my messaging, internet, and appz....... please post coments or questions


I will post the file soon as it uploads to my webspace.. (I'm on dialup)

User avatar
simbalage21
Techie
Posts:111
Joined:Mon Jun 13, 2005 6:23 pm
Location:Detroit
Contact:

here the files go... plz post feedback

Post by simbalage21 » Sun Mar 12, 2006 5:56 am

http://www.nicklowicz.com/SD.rar

PS: after doing a hard reset.. the no service screen went away and i am in
1x good signal!!!! :)

here are some screen shots
Image
Image
Image

User avatar
simbalage21
Techie
Posts:111
Joined:Mon Jun 13, 2005 6:23 pm
Location:Detroit
Contact:

FYI Update

Post by simbalage21 » Thu Mar 23, 2006 6:35 am

This is an updated verizon on the rom above.

In this release It is smaller (The otherone i had the rom folder twice)
as well as fixed the issue of the loss of versamail.

I have removed the verizon wireless sync, the verizon mail, and added SnapperMail. here is the new memory specs once the update is done

21.9M of 22.4M (better on the memory)

Use the same process as above to install in



http://www.nicklowicz.com/vzwfix.rar

Enjoy!

User avatar
simbalage21
Techie
Posts:111
Joined:Mon Jun 13, 2005 6:23 pm
Location:Detroit
Contact:

REFER TO OTHER POST.. GENUINE verizon update on sprint treo

Post by simbalage21 » Thu Mar 23, 2006 5:27 pm

GO HERE.. GENUINE veriozon update on sprint TREO

http://shadowmite.com/forum/viewtopic.php?p=6225#6225

ichi4fun
Newbie
Posts:4
Joined:Tue Aug 02, 2005 1:57 am
Location:Hawaii

Post by ichi4fun » Mon Mar 27, 2006 11:31 pm

I re-did your procedure, still same. The phone works, I can make call or take call. still showing "No Service", and my phone preference still get it to reset, also call forwarding sign is showing on screen. Well, I hope you can help to get rid of "No Service" soon or hopely we will see new Treo 700p(????) maybe. anyhow mahalo for your help.
p.s. my MMS won't work, how do yo set up network setting for it????
Mahalo

User avatar
simbalage21
Techie
Posts:111
Joined:Mon Jun 13, 2005 6:23 pm
Location:Detroit
Contact:

Post by simbalage21 » Tue Mar 28, 2006 9:07 am

go here http://shadowmite.com/forum/viewtopic.php?p=6225#6225

make sure you download an install the official 1.04 update. And follow the instructions IN DETAIL.

if you had mms before, it should be automatic.
Any of my post are represented AS-IS. If you download a file, or screw up your treo. neither me, or this site is responsible. These are my experiences and successes.

mburns1981
Newbie
Posts:7
Joined:Sat Apr 08, 2006 9:17 am

Post by mburns1981 » Sat Apr 08, 2006 9:47 am

i need to write a prl to my phone what progrm do i need to use i tred qst and charenlon?

i cant do the *228 i dont got verizon but am using the verizon software not

User avatar
simbalage21
Techie
Posts:111
Joined:Mon Jun 13, 2005 6:23 pm
Location:Detroit
Contact:

Post by simbalage21 » Sat Apr 08, 2006 1:42 pm

mburns1981 wrote:i need to write a prl to my phone what progrm do i need to use i tred qst and charenlon?

i cant do the *228 i dont got verizon but am using the verizon software not

You'll need a serial cable and chamlion. You'll have to press ##diag# and then use chamlin. What version of software are you using (Sprint or verizon)

You'll need to use bitpim to retrieve the msl.. see shadomites homepage under methods and procedures..
Any of my post are represented AS-IS. If you download a file, or screw up your treo. neither me, or this site is responsible. These are my experiences and successes.

mburns1981
Newbie
Posts:7
Joined:Sat Apr 08, 2006 9:17 am

Post by mburns1981 » Sat Apr 08, 2006 2:40 pm

thanks for replaying i tried both program both give me an error i have a serial cable i can change every value except the PRL.

has there been any fix on the no bannner problem?

vzw 1.04

User avatar
simbalage21
Techie
Posts:111
Joined:Mon Jun 13, 2005 6:23 pm
Location:Detroit
Contact:

Post by simbalage21 » Sat Apr 08, 2006 3:54 pm

mburns1981 wrote:thanks for replaying i tried both program both give me an error i have a serial cable i can change every value except the PRL.

has there been any fix on the no bannner problem?

vzw 1.04
I had that exact problem (said error uploading roaming list)

installed chamlin and the drivers on another computer, worked like a charm... Dunno but i couldnt do it on my xp computer.. tried it on my server, BAM!! worked..
Any of my post are represented AS-IS. If you download a file, or screw up your treo. neither me, or this site is responsible. These are my experiences and successes.

mburns1981
Newbie
Posts:7
Joined:Sat Apr 08, 2006 9:17 am

Post by mburns1981 » Sat Apr 08, 2006 9:25 pm

simbalage21 wrote:
mburns1981 wrote:thanks for replaying i tried both program both give me an error i have a serial cable i can change every value except the PRL.

has there been any fix on the no bannner problem?

vzw 1.04
I had that exact problem (said error uploading roaming list)

installed chamlin and the drivers on another computer, worked like a charm... Dunno but i couldnt do it on my xp computer.. tried it on my server, BAM!! worked..

thanks soo much for all of your help now
how about the banner, CHRONLON NOR QPST CAN CHANGE IT IT JUST BLANK ON THE PHONE?

User avatar
simbalage21
Techie
Posts:111
Joined:Mon Jun 13, 2005 6:23 pm
Location:Detroit
Contact:

Post by simbalage21 » Sun Apr 09, 2006 4:23 pm

That is norm. as long is it says 1x, your in perfect coverage. I think it may have something to do with using an updater, vs how they really install it. Everything will work fine tho. I noticed when you set up alarms in the calander, a blinking icon appears where the banner would be when your alart comes up and you didnt honor it.

maybe this is how its supposed to be, or maybe the banner just deoesnt install, but it works.. been uning mine for 4 months now, and no probs, or roaming ect...
Any of my post are represented AS-IS. If you download a file, or screw up your treo. neither me, or this site is responsible. These are my experiences and successes.

User avatar
obgynjh
Minion
Posts:12
Joined:Mon May 09, 2005 9:20 am

why don't response to punch #*#3282 (DATA) ?

Post by obgynjh » Tue Apr 25, 2006 6:33 pm

Hi. I finally change Verizon ROM .

But I have two problem.

First, my treo do not response #*#3282.

Second, my treo says "No Service" Banner.

But I can use all function, SMS, phone, Data without any problem.

Do you know why is that ?

Thanks.

Post Reply